Recent work: Typographic String Art

One of my goals for the time while I’m between full-time positions is to work on projects for our wedding next May. Until recently, that mostly meant thinking about logistics, contacting vendors, and searching the web for ideas and inspiration. Now that we’ve settled into our place in Cambridge, I can start to fully focus on the part I enjoy most – designing decorations and paper goods.

One decoration that really caught my eye during inspiration searches was this string art wedding invite by Kyle Read:

Wedding Invitation by Kyle Read

Once I saw it, I knew I needed to incorporate something similar into our decorations. This weekend, I completed my string art DIY of ‘J & T’.

Here’s a quick breakdown of how I created this.

Step 1. I played around with a bunch of different font types and sizes until I landed on Market Deco for the letters paired with Marquee for the ampersand.

Step 1: Choosing The Fonts

Step 2. I made a prototype with newspaper and printouts to make sure I liked the wood size, then went to Lowe’s to get some plywood cut. The piece I used measures 14″ x 24″.

Step 2. Paper Prototype

Step 3. I used a few coats of stain (Minwax Polyshades in American Chestnut) on the wood, then added a few coats of varnish.

Step 3: Staining The Base

Step 4. Using printed letters secured with tape as a guide, I hammered nails every 3/4″. For some of the curvy parts in the ampersand I added a few extra nails, but in hindsight they probably were not needed.

Step 4: Placing The Nails (and Hinckley says hello)

Step 5: All that’s left was to string it up! There are a few OK tutorials on the internet (here and here) but really all you need to do is tie the string on with a butcher’s knot, and then wrap it around the nails. I went for a randomized look, similar to what Kyle used in his invite. Once I was done stringing, I secured the loose ends with a few half hitches, and then dabbed some Elmer’s glue on top.

Step 5: Stringing The Letters

And there you have it! One wedding project down, many to go!

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Recent work: Typographic String Art

  1. Deane says:

    That’s super-fun! Thanks for documenting the process. Can’t wait to see what else you have in store…

  2. […] ffffound, kyle read, jeannie jeannie, green wedding shoes, ruffled, font crafts, bunch studio, jo writes, kantikoy, this is colossal, happiness is, lady of the arts, green wedding shoes, hip […]

Leave a Reply

